Food Services


 

October Breakfast & Lunch Menus

Breakfast

CLICK HERE

Elementary Lunch

CLICK HERE

Unity Jr. High Lunch

CLICK HERE

Grab and Go Breakfast

BREAKFAST IS SERVED DAILY AT NO COST!

BREAKFAST HOURS:

Elementary School

8:30-8:50 a.m.

Unity Junior High School

7:50-8:05 a.m.

Cicero District 99 is committed to ensuring all students start the day with a healthy breakfast. Children who eat breakfast tend to perform better in school, have better attendance rates and display fewer behavior problems.

Morning routines can be hectic for parents and children and many kids aren't hungry when they wake up. This is exactly why District 99 provides breakfast every morning in a way that allows all students to participate, even after the first bell rings.

To provide breakfast service that is most accessible to students, District 99 operates the Grab and Go Breakfast Program, which allows students to pick up their breakfast from mobile carts located in the school hallways on the way to their classrooms.

During the first 15 minutes of their first class, students have an opportunity to eat breakfast with their classmates and get the fuel they need to be ready to learn.

PLEASE NOTE: Children should NOT arrive to school before the designated time as adult supervision will not be available.

Community Eligibility Option (CEP)

Cicero District 99 is pleased to offer a community eligibility option available to schools participating in the National School Lunch and Breakfast Programs called the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP).

What does this mean for you and your children attending the school(s) identified above?

All enrolled students in Cicero District 99 are eligible to receive a healthy breakfast and lunch at school for NO CHARGE to their household each day of the school year. No further action is required of parents. Children will be able to participate in these meal programs without having to pay a fee or submit an application.

Healthy School Celebrations

Providing alternatives to food as a reward promotes healthier habits by reducing exposure to less nutritious food items and therefore the amount of calorie-dense food items consumed (i.e. cakes, cookies, candy etc.). This helps children develop improved food preferences and hunger cues to carry them throughout life.

Remember — all food and beverages brought for parties must be approved by the principal's office. Anyone delivering items for a school or classroom party must first stop by the school's main office. It is important the schools ensure that food allergies of any participants are known before serving any food item. Only pre-packaged, store-bought items are allowed. Cakes, candy and soda are not healthy options and will not be allowed.


 

 

Team Nutrition, an initiative of the United States Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service, supports national efforts to promote lifelong healthy food choices and physical activity by improving the nutrition practices of the Child Nutrition Programs. District 99 provides resources to schools, child care setting and summer meal sites that participate in these programs.

In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race,
color, national origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: How to File a Complaint, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:
(1)mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Washingr.ton, D.C. 20250-9410;
(2)fax: (202) 690-7442; or
(3)email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider

Contact Us

☎️ Call (708) 863-8229

Director

Janice Wolff

📧 jwolff@cicd99.edu

Manager

Michele Maniglia

📧 mmaniglia@cicd99.edu

Cicero East

Norma Ruiz

📧 nruiz@cicd99.edu

Cicero West

Esther Aguilar

📧 eaguilar@cicd99.edu

Columbus East

Rosalinda Ramos

📧 rramos@cicd99.edu

Columbus West

Anna Marquez

📧 amarquez@cicd99.edu

Drexel

Christine Novak

📧 cnovak@cicd99.edu

Early Childhood Center

Elsa Solis

📧 esolis@cicd99.edu

Goodwin

Graciela Solis

📧 gsolis3@cicd99.edu

Liberty

Salud Farfan

📧 sfarfan@cicd99.edu

Lincoln

Susan Byczynski

📧 sbyczynski@cicd99.edu

McKinley

Gloria Munoz

📧 mmunoz2@cicd99.edu

Roosevelt/Woodbine

Bertha Gonzalez

📧 bgonzalez@cicd99.edu

Sherlock

Minerva Medina

📧 mmedina@cicd99.edu

Unity East

Elvira Trevino

📧 etrevino@cicd99.edu

Unity West

Laurie Noriega

📧 lnoriega@cicd99.edu

Warren Park

Claudia Rodriguez

📧 crodriguez@cicd99.edu

Wilson

Juanita Mejia

📧 jmejia@cicd99.edu