Food Services

Student Menus

GRAB-N-GO breakfast

Cicero District 99 is committed to ensuring that all of our students start the day with a healthy breakfast. Kids who eat breakfast tend to perform better in school, have better attendance rates, and display fewer behavior problems. We know that morning routines can be hectic and many kids aren’t hungry when they wake up and that is exactly why we provide breakfast every morning in a way that allows all students to participate, even after the bell.

Cicero District serves breakfast in a way that is accessible to students: Grab and Go to the Classroom

Grab and Go to the Classroom – students pick up breakfasts from mobile carts on the way to their classroom. Students have an opportunity during the first 15 minutes of class to eat breakfast with their classmates and get the fuel they need to be ready to learn.

BREAKFAST IS SERVED DAILY AT NO COST TO THE STUDENTS:

ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

8:30 AM – 8:50 AM

UNITY JR. HIGH SCHOOL

7:50 AM - 8:05 AM

CHILDREN SHOULD NOT ARRIVE TO SCHOOL BEFORE THE DESIGNATED TIME AS SUPERVISION WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE

COMMUNITY ELIGIBILITY OPTION

We are pleased to inform you that Cicero School District 99 offers an option available to schools participating in the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs called the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) for the current school year.

What does this mean for you and your children attending the school(s) identified above?

Great news for you and your students! All enrolled students of Cicero School District 99 are eligible to receive a healthy breakfast and lunch at school at no charge to your household each day of the this school year. No further action is required of you. Your child(ren) will be able to participate in these meal programs without having to pay a fee or submit an application.

If we can be of any further assistance, please contact Jan Wolff at 708-863-8229.

HEALTHY SCHOOL CELEBRATIONS

Providing alternatives to food as a reward promotes healthier habits by reducing exposure to less nutritious food items and, therefore, the amount of calorie-dense food items consumed (e.g. cakes, cookies, candy, etc.). This helps children develop improved food preferences and hunger cues to carry them throughout life.

Please help us in creating new celebration traditions that focus on healthier alternatives. For ideas on non-food alternatives, please review:

Remember, all foods and beverages brought for parties must first be approved by the Principal’s office. Anyone delivering items for a school or classroom party must first stop by the office. It is important that we ensure that food allergies of any participants are known before serving any food item. Only pre-packaged, store-bought items are allowed. Cakes, candy and soda are not healthy options and will not be allowed.

Food and Nutrition Service

Team Nutrition, an initiative of the United States Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service, supports national efforts to promote lifelong healthy food choices and physical activity by improving the nutrition practices of the Child Nutrition Programs. We provide resources to schools, child care settings, and summer meal sites that participate in these programs.

For more Information contact: https://www.fns.usda.gov/

In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race,
color, national origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: How to File a Complaint, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:
(1)mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Washingr.ton, D.C. 20250-9410;
(2)fax: (202) 690-7442; or
(3)email: program.intake@usda.gov.
This institution is an equal opportunity provider

Leadership

Director

Ms. Jan Wolff                                    jwolff@cicd99.edu

Manager

Ms. Michele Maniglia                    mmaniglia@cicd99.edu

Lunch Hostesses

Burnham School
Beatriz Valdovinos
bvaldovinos@cicd99.edu

Cicero East School
Norma Ruiz
nruiz@cicd99.edu

Cicero West School
Esther Aguilar
eaquilar@cicd99.edu

Columbus East School
Rosalinda Ramos
rramos@cicd99.edu

Columbus West School
Anna Marquez
amarquez@cicd99.edu

Drexel School
Christine Novak
cnovak@cicd99.edu

Early Childhood Center                Elsa Solis                                            esolis@cicd99.edu

Goodwin                                            Mary Yarka                                          myarka@cicd99.edu

Liberty School
Salud Farfan
sfarfan@cicd99.edu

Lincoln School
Susan Byczynski
sbyczynski@cicd99.edu

McKinley School
Mayra Leal
mleal@cicd99.edu

Roosevelt School
Bertha Gonzalez
bgonzalez@cicd99.edu

Sherlock School
Minerva Medina
mmedina@cicd99.edu

Unity Jr. High School  Rosalinda Estrada
restrada@cicd99.edu

Elvira Trevino
etrevino@cicd99.edu

Warren Park School
Claudia Rodriguez
crodriguez@cicd99.edu

Wilson School
Juanita Mejia
jmejia@cicd99.edu